Jump to content

 

Google Redirects


10 replies to this topic

#1 lethalweapon3

    Apologist-in-Chief

  • Squawk Supporter
  • Join Date: 24-October 08
  • Post Count: 3,407
  • Gender:Male
  • Location: WestCyde - HowHell Mill

Awards Bar:

Posted 05 October 2009 - 06:36 PM

Tougher request -

DON'T spam out your computers or anything... I'm just advising that when Googling 'hawksquawk' and the webpage link appears (it is, correctly, www.hawksquawk.net, not hawksquawk.com or anything like that), clicking on the link from that page redirects to what I can only assume is some kind of spam redirect setup (I think it's tiny4url dot info or something weird).  No idea how to fix that, but it probably can be a deterrent for folks trying to access the site from a popular site like Google.  I just clear out my browser immediately to keep any hijinks from popping up afterward, plus the main forum's in my favorites so I can avoid the problem.  Not sure if it's the same problem with other search engines, either.  Test it using your in-law's computer! :-)

~lw3

#2 Dolfan23

    Website Admin

  • Admin
  • Join Date: 25-May 02
  • Post Count: 16,214
  • Gender:Male
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • Interests:
    Atlanta Hawks
    Miami Dolphins
    Miami Hurricanes (fball)
    NY Yankees
    Syracuse Orange (bball)

    Flash Programming
    Graphic & Web Design
    DIY Network Addict
  • Fan since:1986
  •  

Posted 06 October 2009 - 01:25 PM

I honestly have no idea why it does that nor do I know how to change it since it's controlled on Google's side. If you go to the tinyurl page and then use your back button and then click on the same link again it goes right to Hawksquawk. I'll see if I can contact Google and find out why it's doing that.

Thanks for the heads up!

#3 jy23

    6th Man

  • Political Squawkers
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Join Date: 07-July 09
  • Post Count: 882
  • Gender:Male
  • Location: Douglasville GA
  • Interests:
    Sports, anything with a ball I'm watching it! Favorite teams: Atl Hawks, Atl Falcons, Atl Braves, Duke basketball, USC football!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Fan since:1997

Posted 10 October 2009 - 11:18 PM

View PostDolfan23, on 06 October 2009 - 01:25 PM, said:

I honestly have no idea why it does that nor do I know how to change it since it's controlled on Google's side. If you go to the tinyurl page and then use your back button and then click on the same link again it goes right to Hawksquawk. I'll see if I can contact Google and find out why it's doing that.

Thanks for the heads up!
I thought it was just my computer being a piece of crap or something, glad to know it wasn't just me.

#4 Dolfan23

    Website Admin

  • Admin
  • Join Date: 25-May 02
  • Post Count: 16,214
  • Gender:Male
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • Interests:
    Atlanta Hawks
    Miami Dolphins
    Miami Hurricanes (fball)
    NY Yankees
    Syracuse Orange (bball)

    Flash Programming
    Graphic & Web Design
    DIY Network Addict
  • Fan since:1986
  •  

Posted 11 October 2009 - 11:50 AM

View Postjy21, on 10 October 2009 - 11:18 PM, said:

I thought it was just my computer being a piece of crap or something, glad to know it wasn't just me.

Nope it wasn't you. Apparently we had a file hacked that allowed someone to insert that code but it's fixed now. Let me know if you see it happen again though.

#5 jy23

    6th Man

  • Political Squawkers
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Join Date: 07-July 09
  • Post Count: 882
  • Gender:Male
  • Location: Douglasville GA
  • Interests:
    Sports, anything with a ball I'm watching it! Favorite teams: Atl Hawks, Atl Falcons, Atl Braves, Duke basketball, USC football!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Fan since:1997

Posted 25 October 2009 - 09:14 AM

Dol it looks like its back.  I just tried it and it redirected me to that crap again.

#6 Dolfan23

    Website Admin

  • Admin
  • Join Date: 25-May 02
  • Post Count: 16,214
  • Gender:Male
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • Interests:
    Atlanta Hawks
    Miami Dolphins
    Miami Hurricanes (fball)
    NY Yankees
    Syracuse Orange (bball)

    Flash Programming
    Graphic & Web Design
    DIY Network Addict
  • Fan since:1986
  •  

Posted 25 October 2009 - 12:14 PM

View Postjy21, on 25 October 2009 - 09:14 AM, said:

Dol it looks like its back. I just tried it and it redirected me to that crap again.

Damnit, thank you for letting me know about it. Apparently it's happened in the past 72 hours as I've been checking it daily, I think up until Friday.

#7 jy23

    6th Man

  • Political Squawkers
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Join Date: 07-July 09
  • Post Count: 882
  • Gender:Male
  • Location: Douglasville GA
  • Interests:
    Sports, anything with a ball I'm watching it! Favorite teams: Atl Hawks, Atl Falcons, Atl Braves, Duke basketball, USC football!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Fan since:1997

Posted 02 November 2009 - 05:33 PM

Sorry to keep bothering u Dol but its back again!

#8 Dolfan23

    Website Admin

  • Admin
  • Join Date: 25-May 02
  • Post Count: 16,214
  • Gender:Male
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • Interests:
    Atlanta Hawks
    Miami Dolphins
    Miami Hurricanes (fball)
    NY Yankees
    Syracuse Orange (bball)

    Flash Programming
    Graphic & Web Design
    DIY Network Addict
  • Fan since:1986
  •  

Posted 02 November 2009 - 06:29 PM

View Postjy21, on 02 November 2009 - 05:33 PM, said:

Sorry to keep bothering u Dol but its back again!

You're not bothering me at all and I truly appreciate you checking on this. I looked this morning at 8am central time and it was fine so it's definitely happened today and hopefully that will help the support team figure out how this bastard is able to inject his code into the site.

#9 jy23

    6th Man

  • Political Squawkers
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Join Date: 07-July 09
  • Post Count: 882
  • Gender:Male
  • Location: Douglasville GA
  • Interests:
    Sports, anything with a ball I'm watching it! Favorite teams: Atl Hawks, Atl Falcons, Atl Braves, Duke basketball, USC football!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Fan since:1997

Posted 02 November 2009 - 11:27 PM

View PostDolfan23, on 02 November 2009 - 06:29 PM, said:

You're not bothering me at all and I truly appreciate you checking on this. I looked this morning at 8am central time and it was fine so it's definitely happened today and hopefully that will help the support team figure out how this bastard is able to inject his code into the site.
I'll b sure to let u know everytime it happens

#10 jy23

    6th Man

  • Political Squawkers
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Join Date: 07-July 09
  • Post Count: 882
  • Gender:Male
  • Location: Douglasville GA
  • Interests:
    Sports, anything with a ball I'm watching it! Favorite teams: Atl Hawks, Atl Falcons, Atl Braves, Duke basketball, USC football!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Fan since:1997

Posted 08 November 2009 - 09:22 PM

And.......there we go again!  He's back!

#11 Dolfan23

    Website Admin

  • Admin
  • Join Date: 25-May 02
  • Post Count: 16,214
  • Gender:Male
  • Location: Houston, TX
  • Interests:
    Atlanta Hawks
    Miami Dolphins
    Miami Hurricanes (fball)
    NY Yankees
    Syracuse Orange (bball)

    Flash Programming
    Graphic & Web Design
    DIY Network Addict
  • Fan since:1986
  •  

Posted 09 November 2009 - 09:17 AM

View Postjy21, on 08 November 2009 - 09:22 PM, said:

And.......there we go again! He's back!

Apparently Invision Power is refusing to do anything about this claiming that it's not their problem and our hosting company also cannot determine how it's happening and since we're on a shared server we're pretty much SOL. The only thing I can do is re-build the affected files but this will continue to happen.

What I've now done is to send an e-mail to tinyURL in the hopes that they will ban that person as they claim on their site that using a tinyurl page for spamming or illegal activities will get someone banned.

Thanks again for your attention on this and I hope to get it fixed permanently otherwise we'll probably have to move to a new hosting company.



Reply to this topic



  


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users