• Current Donation Goals

• Raised $390 of $700 target

Are the Mavs Tainting the NBA?

TRUEINTELLECTPLAYA

So, the Heat are hated for tainting the NBA by stacking this great unbeatable team in the minds of there haters. They will also talk about the way Lebron did the decision. Lebron and the Heat are simply bad guys that are going about winning the wrong way and ruining there legacies and tainting the NBA but what about the Mavs?

No NBA team in my lifetime has used the zone as much as the Mavs because honestly they can't get enough stops to win against the level of competition that they are currently playing without playing zone. So, what do you think about this is it good for the NBA? Does it taint the championship if the Mavs win it? Zone defense was not legal during the Jordan, Bird, Magic days. Actually, zones were not completely legal in the NBA until 2001-02.

http://www.nba.com/a...es_history.html

Personally, I am not totally against zone because when I started playing organized ball on my 6th grade Pee Wee team that's when I started learning zone. So, since 11 years old I was learning about zones, and I think it is pretty much the same for most of these professional athletes. On the other hand, that does not take away from the fact that the true greats were not allowed to use this defense which can be lazy, gimmicky, and simply used because you can't play defense well enough to beat your competition without it. Yes it is currently legal so the Mavs are not breaking the rules, but this is not what Bird, Magic, and Jordan used. This is not what Russel used when he was winning 10 and this is also not what Phil Jackson who is ridiculed for winning with better talent every used, even though he could have from 2001-02 until now.

IMO, I do look at the Mavs as a weaker opponent win or lose this championship due to them not being able to get enough stops to win without using the zone.

Edited by TRUEINTELLECTPLAYA